Summer of Night – Week 3

Week 3, friends! How are you making out? Are you finding this an easy read? Tough? Too long?

THIS SHIT IS BANANAS!!!

1. How do you explain Mr. Grumbacher finding a dead cat in Dale’s basement, and not Tubby Cooke?
2. Do you think Mink Harper is a reliable source of information?
3. Has your opinion of Jim Harlen changed at all?
4. OK….the Michelle & Mike scene….too much given their ages? Creepy? Sweet? Both?
5. The soldier William Campbell Phillips.. was he the “right” man that should have been hung in the belfry?
6. What do you think happened to Father Cavanaugh?
7. “Duane McBride was dead, as was Duane’s uncle, but people accepted death by accident–even the terrible death of a child–while the mutilation of a few cats would keep them whispering and locking their doors for weeks or months to come.” Do you agree with this?
8. Will anyone have survived by the time this book is done?!?

Do the thing!

19 thoughts on “Summer of Night – Week 3

  1. Hello ! This is a totally different reading experience for me as I normally power through books but have been taking my time with this one to stick with the readalong. It’s really freaked me out, this section especially.
    1. I can’t explain it. Either Dale imagined it or the grown ups can’t see unless they believe, probably the latter!
    2. I think Mink was more reliable than Mrs Moon as he had nothing to gain from lying. His story made sense and I loved finally getting some answers ! I do now fear for his life though.
    3. Jim is kind of mean but I do feel really sad for him. I think he has to look after himself and his mother is useless…I also think its really sweet when he wears his best clothes for the party…
    4. Yeah that section was a bit weird…not what I was expecting but I guess it ties in with the loss of innocence theme and Mike being established as the sort of leader of the group.
    5. YES the soldier was definitely the child rapist / murderer. I think he was an actual psychopath who got obsessed with girls. Really really creepy.
    6. Oh no Father C !!! I think the bugs have got him and hes a goner. That part made me really sad. And potentially one of the scariest parts ever when he pops up at the window oh my goddd.
    7. I do agree its weird that there was a huge deal made about the cats but Duane and his Uncle’s deaths were made to look like accidents, whereas the cats were definitely killed so people will be freaked out !
    8. Please please please dont let anything bad happen to the rest of the guys and Cordie !! My heart cant take it !!
    Loving the book.

    Like

    1. Jim was my least favorite in the beginning, but he really grew on me! I ended up being able to relate to him in ways. He definitely lacks parental supervision!

      I would love a prequel story of all the events that went on before this with Mink & Moon & the rest of the families involved!

      That basement scene was so gnarly! And the cats shredded & hanging? GAH! Poor things 😭

      -Holly

      Like

    2. The whole sequence with Father C and the soldier is just completely bonkers & disgusting!! And it’s an interesting point about the grown-ups and what they can & can’t see, depending on their beliefs. Obviously, Father C is pretty well-positioned as a good ally for the kids! Or at least, he was!

      -Corey

      Like

  2. Trying not give spoilers as I’ve already finished the book!
    I really liked that bit in the basement. I was expecting something to be lurking in the water but not Tubby Cooke.
    I really like Jim Harlen, I like that’s he’s more involved in the story now, and his background was quite the eye opener of how kids get neglected. Felt sorry for him.
    I think Michelle and Mike scene although it made me cringe reading it, I felt it was kind of realistic. They are almost teenagers after all!

    Like

    1. Yeah, I’m with you about the Mike & Michelle scene Nils! This was in the 60’s, after all. Other stories like IT have done similar scenes.. because it is a part of a realistic innocent story into adulthood. I thought this was done less shockingly & just felt awkward in that perfect kind of way.

      -Holly

      Like

    2. Yeah, really cool to see Harlen kind of come into his own at this stage, and have more of an impact on the goings-on! And to totally have Congden’s number like that, shooting up the car! That was a pretty badass moment!

      -Corey

      Like

  3. Ok, confession time. I was trying to pace my reading and only do the weekly sections for the read along, but I got so caught up I just had to finish and blew through the rest of the book! But, I’ll limit myself to answers only from the pertinent section.
    1. I think the cat was brought over by the Tubby thing as a decoy, in case any adults came to investigate. Once Dale got away, the Tubby thing left the cat corpse to discredit him and made its escape through the crawl space.
    2. Surprisingly yes, I think Mink is a very reliable source of information. The town drunk usually hears and sees far more than most people give him credit for.
    3. My opinion of Jim has changed a little. I think he’s a little but if an asshole, but that’s what makes him realistic. He’s had a pretty hard life, practically raising himself, and honestly, we all know a kid like Jim, who’s just a little bit of a delinquent, but we still hang out with them.
    4. The Michelle and Mike scene. Here’s the one time I might say this book was better than IT. I mean, it’s kinda cringeworthy, but mostly in that awkward, fumbling, hormones and puberty are starting to kick in way.
    5. The solder was definitely the man who should’ve been hung for what happened! That’s why I think he all of a sudden decided to head off to the war. He had to get gone quick.
    6. Poor father C! He’s definitely a goner, but I don’t think he’s gone, if you know what I mean.
    7. Unfortunately, this is completely true, especially in a rural farming community. Accidents happen, they’ll be discussed for a bit, mourned, but it’s just a way of life and people will move on. Now the willful mutilation and killing of some cats, that’s juicy gossip. That’ll keep tongues wagging for a long time.
    8. That question is one of the main reasons why had to keep reading! I was so worried for this group, I had to know what was going to happen.

    Like

    1. I love the Mink scene so much! The clarity he remembers things with, even with his rather rough way of speaking…it’s like going in the way-back machine!

      That’s Jim in a nutshell. Bit of an asshole, but still a good guy to have on your team! I always loved when he emerged as more of a key component to the Bike Patrol!!

      -Corey

      Like

  4. I couldn’t stop and finished this whole book over a week ago. It’s on my list of favorite novels ever now! I’ll stick to just the parts mentioned for my comments though!

    1. I think that Grumbacher couldn’t see Tubby because maybe the supernatural/evil happenings are only apparent to the kids.
    2. Not sure about Mink- If it were me, I probably would’ve believed him, even though he’s the town drunk and possibly exaggerating his story to get more booze!
    3. Yes, at first I didn’t care for Harlen but he has started to grow on me a bit at this point.
    4. I thought the Michelle and Mike scene was a bit creepy since it was about two 12-13 year olds, lol…seemed a bit much for their age. I’m glad it didn’t go as far as I thought it would!
    5. I am not sure if the soldier was the right man to be hung in the belfry, but I definitely don’t believe it was the man they actually hung who deserved it.
    6. I think Father Cavanaugh was infected by the evil forces and is now possibly one of the leaders or just one of the gang from the dark side!
    7. Yes, this seems to ring true, especially in a small community. People become desensitized to accidental and even intentional death of humans, but when something out of the ordinary happens like it did to the cats, that keeps people talking and makes them more frightened of what could happen. As a cat lover, this was one of the hardest parts for me to read.
    8. I hope someone survives this! That damn rendering truck might take someone down eventually. Every time I see a red truck that resembles it in any way, I feel creeped out!

    Like

  5. 1. I think it has to do with believing! The grownups don’t think anything strange is going on and can’t see truth when it’s right in front of them. I completely wasn’t expecting Tubby to be floating down there!
    2. Definitely! Mink has no reason to lie. I really hope the monsters don’t get him…
    3. My opinion of Jim’s actually changed a lot now! I love that a whole section was dedicated to him, I saw him as more of a realistic kid after that. I mean, he’s still kind of irritating when he picks on the others, but at least now it feels like he genuinely wants to be a part of the group.
    4. The Mike & Michelle scene was definitely a little cringe-y to read, but the awkwardness worked for this story? It reminded me of It, but not as shocking and fit a bit better.
    5. It definitely should’ve been him! Especially knowing he had a past with Memo, too, I’m worried what else might come out about him.
    6. Father C!! I was really hoping the slug/leech things would go away. 😦 Maybe since he was changed while he was still alive (not killed like Duane/Mrs. Duggan), part of him still knows what’s going on and the kids can get through to him at just the right time to save the day??
    7. Yeah. Accidents are going to happen, so you have no choice but to accept them. With the cats, someone intentionally did that to them, which is going to make everyone nervous about who they might do it to next.
    8. All I’m asking is that Lawrence better still be there at the end, pretty please.

    Like

    1. Totally agree with your first point, it’s all about what people are willing to believe. Even though Father C. is somewhat skeptical, in the end, he’s just hardwired to be able to see & fight evil. Sadly, it just didn’t go so well for him!

      -Corey

      Like

  6. Well, I’ve abandoned the reading schedule and finished the book over the weekend. I was getting too curious as to how it would all play out, so I’m just sticking to a few of the questions, as to not accidentally spoil anybody.

    I wouldn’t say, I really ended up liking Jim Harlen, but he definitely grew on me. I liked that we found out a little more about him and I felt really sorry for him, seeing as he basically had to raise himself…no wonder he’s a bit of an ass sometimes.
    The Mike and Michelle scene was a little cringe-worthy, but I do think it wasn’t too far fetched. They are nearly teenagers and looking back at my own school days, that was round about the time when “couples” started sprouting all over the place 🙂 Not me though, I was shy and awkward…
    Yes, I think, accidents, and that’s what everyone thought happened to Duane and his uncle, are accepted as sad things that can happen. When mutilated cats are are found though, that shows a very sinister motive and somebody deliberately doing harm. It will make you worry about what may happen next.

    Like

  7. I was definitely slow this past week, but I’m planning to finish the book tonight or tomorrow! It’s so good and I have time. I will wait no longer!

    1. I feel like it was put there as a decoy, or used as some type of medium to show Dale what they wanted him to see.
    2. He’s a drunk, but seems oddly genuine regardless of that. Also, what happened to his “home” after he told Mike and Mike went back. Just like what happened to Mrs. Moon after she told Duane stuff. Seems every time someone shares useful info, they either die or go missing.
    3. Definitely. I mean, he’s pretty much abandoned by his mother, so he’s had to fend for himself. That would make anyone hard. He keeps people at arms length, probably because he’s worried they’ll disappoint him in the end like his father and his mother.
    4. It seemed a bit much given their age. I remember being that age and being very curious. I even remember kissing a girl who was the same age and a daughter of my mom’s friend who watched us after school. But it was only ever a kiss. What they did seems unrealistic.
    5. No, he was just they patsy. It should have been Mr Ashley (senior), who gave him the evidence.
    6. Seems those worm like things turned him into one of the undead legions.
    7. I do. Duane and his uncle’s death do seem like accidents from an outside perspective. But the cat mutilation is obviously not. Also, this may me incredibly sad. I hate when animals are die or are killed. 😦
    8. My prediction is probably everyone but Mike and/or Harlen. Just a got feeling.

    I’m did the thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

