Gwendy’s Button Box – Stephen King & Richard Chizmar

“I am what you might call a rambling man, and America is my beat.” 

Would you take candy from a stranger.. in a park.. wearing a bowler hat.. who wants to “palaver?” Hmm. But what if he offered you a magical box filled with special animal-shaped chocolates & silver coins & various buttons & WORLD DOMINATION?! Or something like that.. yeah. No. I’m good. Thanks, but no thanks.

This is what 12 year old Gwendy finds herself faced with when she first meets.. someone those of us travelling back to Castle Rock know all too well. This button box is one that will provide many rewards, while other times tremendous consequences. Ah, the allure of power! It is something many ponder. But are the risks worth it?

This was short & sweet. Although maybe a little *too* short (because I wanted MORE!) It was so good to be back within the pages of Castle Rock, Maine. So oddly comforting.. if that makes sense. I think that makes sense for those of us who love these fucked up stories, anyway!

I certainly found myself fully immersed in Gwendy’s story. Sure, it wasn’t full of twists & turns, but it will keep you entertained! I don’t want to say too much, since this delightful novella is such a quick read. However, I really enjoyed this collaborative effort from King & Richard Chizmar. I will definitely be on the lookout for more of Chizmar’s work!

And the illustrations? Absolutely LOVED them!

Long days and pleasant nights!

~Holly

Leave a Reply

