Summer of Night – Week 2

Welcome to the week two discussion, all! How are you making out? Things got BONKERS in this section! And incredibly heartbreaking ::SOB::

Again, this is an open discussion, so feel free to ask the group any questions you may have too!

1. Are you finding the book scary?
2. Who or what do you think killed & ate the little girl in January 1900? The soldier?
3. Do you think Duane & his family are specifically targeted because of Duane’s research?
4. What the hell is that massive Tremors-like slug creature?
5. Dan Simmons is known for using a lot of detail in his writing. Do you find that it adds to the story, or slows it down?
6. What do you think of Cordie?
7. Do you think the Borgia Bell was evil when it was brought over from Italy or did it become so after the events of the hanging?
8. WHAT IN ACTUAL FUCK IS GOING ON?!?

Go forth & speculate!

28 thoughts on “Summer of Night – Week 2

  1. I’ve not found the book particularly but I do worry for the characters!
    Yes I think all the research that Duane and his uncle are uncovering about the bell is definitely why they are targeted the most. 😭
    Oh and I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought of Tremors when that big wormy-creature thing appeared!
    I did get a bit annoyed at all the detail Simmons was adding because it was taking away from the main story which I wanted to get on with, but it’s not a big issue for me. It was more of an issue at the beginning.

    Like

    1. I think this is the just-right amount of detail for me in a Dan Simmons book. Some of his more recent efforts are just buried underneath mountains of unnecessary detail!

      Poor Duane. The kid & his family just never stood a chance. Such a heartbreaking moment.

      -Corey

      Like

    2. Glad it just wasn’t me that automatically thought of Tremors!

      I actually really loved the in-depth details from Simmons. I think in this case especially, it helped add to the atmospheric feel of the story!

      -Holly

      Like

  2. 1. I don’t think it is scary, but I’m not typically scared by books/movies. What I look for in horror is a creepy atmosphere, which I think this book has.
    2. The worm like creature?!? Maybe the reanimated dead?
    3. I definitely think Duane and his family were targeted because of their research. He was my favorite character! 😭
    4. Umm…🤷🏻‍♀️
    5. Personally, I LOVE the details. They do slow the story down, but I like the atmosphere the details help create.
    6. I don’t have many thoughts about Cordie yet. I’m hoping we see more of her in the next section.
    7. I think the Borgia Bell was evil when it was first created.
    8. ?!?!

    Like

  3. 1. Oh my god ive been terrified ! What the foop. Ive literally been making my dog cuddle me when i read.
    2. At this point it could have been anyone but im so intrigued by the soldier and these other zombies…i think they could have been previous bell fodder.
    3. Yes i definitely think so its that classic horror move…as soon as someone gets close to the truth theyre a goner. It also reminded me of a series of unfortunate events in that way but x 10000.
    4. I have no idea…is it like the spirit of the bell…manifestation of its evil ? Who knows but UGH.
    5. The detail is incredible. Its subtle and you get so immersed that it takes you a while to be terrified before youre like oh shit. The whole passage with Duane in the field was completely heartbreaking.
    6. Well Cordie is pretty bad ass and i think there is definitely more to her than meets the eye. Loving that there is a bit more to a female character!
    7. I think evil people leave an imprint on things and its obviously had a bad effect on people since then. I will now be suspicious of churches etc.
    8. Some serious shit is going down. I would be out of there like bye felicia. But I LOVE IT.
    Amy xx @ames_reads

    Like

    1. That’s awesome!! Nothing like some good doggo snuggles to help you through the creepier parts!!

      Cordie is such a boss! That girl just takes not one ounce of shit, and I love her!

      -Corey

      Like

  4. 1) I didn’t start getting creeped out until those things were circling Duane in the field! But Duane… *insert broken heart emoji*. That was terrible. I’ve been more worried for the group than outrightly scared so far.
    2) Maybe! It would make the most sense. Especially how they keep saying the soldier is wearing older-style clothes, and if the death happened in 1900…
    3) Yes! Which is terrifying because what’s going to happen when the rest of the boys start looking into it on their own?!
    4) No idea, but I really hope there aren’t more of them because it would make them that much harder to kill if they can just hide back underground really quickly and sneak up on you.
    5) I feel like in the first part of the story all the detail helped to set everything up, but in this section I felt more impatient to get on with the story. I know all the details will connect in the end, but right now it feels a little slow.
    7) I think it was evil back in Italy! I’m just dying to know why all of the adults are keeping what they know about the bell a secret. Maybe they used to be controlled like Van Syke and Mrs. Doubbet and don’t want anyone to find out??

    Like

    1. That Duane chapter at the end of this section was BANANAS! I could picture that so vividly. I miss him so much! He was such a great character!

      Can you imagine having those slug things tunneling around? GROSS.

      -Holly

      Like

  5. 1. There have definitely been some scary scenes so far. I had nightmares the other night that I think were in part due to this book!
    2. I think the little girl was likely killed and eaten by the worm/eel like creatures.
    3. Duane and his uncle were so knowledgeable; no doubt they were targeted for looking into the history and finding details on the evils lurking in the town. Duane was my favorite and I cried when we lost him. : (
    4. Those creatures sound disgusting and it makes me think of Tremors as well. Not sure what they are but there is all kinds of crazy shit happening!
    5. I think that at times, the detail adds to the story, but there are other moments when I’ve found myself skipping past a bit of the detail as it seemed too much and irrelevant.
    6. I think Cordie is badass!
    7. I think it was evil from the beginning, when it was brought over from Italy.
    8. I have to admit I finished the whole book, but at this point I still wasn’t sure what was going on, just that it must be influenced by that evil bell.

    Like

    1. This is my third time reading it, and it’s still shocking to me when Duane dies. And I really like how you used the words “when we lost him”, because that’s for sure how it feels. So early in the book, too. But such a monumental loss for all his friends.

      -Corey

      Like

  6. Ok, this week’s section was just wow! Let’s get started.
    1. Ok, while it has been unsettling and even a little creepy at times, I wouldn’t say it’s been very scary, yet. But, it’s definitely got potential to ramp up the scariness.
    2. I definitely think it could’ve been the soldier, I’m really curious to know more about what’s up with him.
    3. Duane and his family were definitely being targeted because of his research. It’s standard horror trope, you take out the guy who knows the most about what’s going on and how to stop it. And may I just say, this absolutely killed me. Witt was bad, but then Uncle Art and Duane himself. Dammit Simmons, this is supposed to be a horror novel, not a beat me to death with all the feels novel!
    4. I immediately thought Tremors and the graboids when I read that too! I’m sure they’re connected to the bell, but I don’t know how.
    5. Loving the level of detail in this. In the other Simmons book I read, The Terror, I thought the detail could actually get a little overwhelming and bogged down, but in this it’s perfect. It helps to set the scene and really takes me to Elm Haven beside the boy’s of the Bike Patrol.
    6. Cordie is definitely interesting. Definitely more than meets the eye to her.
    7. Judging by Duane’s research, I think the Borgia Bell was already evil, and has been for some time. It’s definitely a cursed artifact that has had a long reaching effect on everyone who’s come in contact with it.
    8) I don’t know, but it’s definitely some freaky shit, and it’s only gonna get worse.

    Like

    1. That’s what I love about the finer details in this book…it really paints such a vivid picture of Elm Haven. It’s been fun for me revisiting this one, because while so many things were a little fuzzy to me, my overall mental image of this town, the way it’s laid out, etc…it all just comes flooding back because of the detail-oriented style of writing.

      -Corey

      Like

    2. The toughest things to read for me involved that family, for sure. Witt was heartbreaking.. but then Art? What an awesome uncle to have! Then the hardest loss of all, Duane. Man.. what an emotional rollercoaster!

      -Holly

      Like

  7. 1. I’m not finding the book particularly scary. It’s creepy, but I haven’t really been freaked out by it!
    2. I think the soldier, or someone ate the little girl – I don’t think it was a creature.
    3. Duane and his uncle are definitely goners because they got too close to the truth!
    4. I have no idea what the creature is too – but I thought of Tremors!
    5. I am finding that the amount of detail is actually a little distracting in places, it slows the action down and I have been tempted to skip ahead.
    6. There’s definitely more to Cordie than the others think. I think she’s smarter than she lets on.
    7. I do think the Borgia Bell was evil when it was brought over from Italy – I think it probably influenced the hanging. Maybe it was cursed there, or part of a ritual?
    8. I HAVE’T A BLOODY CLUE WHAT’S GOING ON!!

    Like

  8. 1. It’s getting scary up in here!
    2. I think maybe the bell demon killed her?
    3. Yes, research definitely made Duane and his family a target, which means last week’s theory about the creature being an alien monster here to make our race smarter incorrect.
    4. The massive Tremors-like slug creature is a demon.
    5. I feel like we have the right amount of detail.
    6. I’m worried about Cordie.
    7. I think the Borgia Bell was evil when it was brought over from Italy. Sounds like the pope dabbled in the occult.
    8. WHAT IN ACTUAL FUCK IS GOING ON?!? Yes.

    Like

  9. 1. There’s a few creepy things going on, but I haven’t been scared yet.
    2. The soldier is an option, but I’m not 100% sure.
    3. Definitely. They came too close to the truth with their research. Duane was my favourite, so his death was a bit of a shock.
    4. Definitely a Tremors vibe there, but I have no idea what they could be. Seeing as the bell started out in Egypt, I’m wondering if the creature is somehow connected to Egyptian mythology?
    5. I found the beginning of the book a little slow, but I do actually like detailed writing. I’m quite happy with it.
    6. I love Cordie! I hope we get to see more of her.
    7. I do think the bell was evil to begin with.
    8. Good question!

    Like

  10. Duane! Why Duane?! He was my favourite character!

    1. I’m not particularly scared yet, though to be honest, even though I love horror, there’s nothing that has ever really scared reading them. But I’m enjoying the creepiness for sure!

    2. I’m not sure who ate the girl. Probably one of the townsfolk at the time. Though I don’t think it was the soldier. Mainly because he was wearing the uniform and WWI didn’t start till 1914 and I’m assuming the uniform has some big importance to that character.

    3. I definitely think his family was targeted for Duane’s research. He was the only one making any real headway into what was happening. His Uncle ended up doing real research and found a huge break, so he was dealt with. Then Duane figured out what is Uncle found and he was dealt with. Oh Duane…

    4. I want to say it’s a manifestation of that demon thing that’s possessing the bell. Same with the zombies. Like dark minions sent out to deal with the curious folk. The lamprey things are most likely the cause of those holes too.

    5. I think that it can sometimes slow it down. But I’m a bit of a history buff and I love mythology, so I completely think it adds! I love having that element of research in books like this. It adds a real element to the creep factor!

    6. She really came to the rescue with Dale. I feel like she’s going to play a much bigger role later on.

    7. I think it was evil when it was brought over. Maybe not completely, but to some degree because it was made with meteorite metal. Space demons!

    8. Kind of reminds me of the movie Oculus. The bell is a conduit for a demonic deal, though the people who summoned it to gain power and influence stopped sacrificing for it. Now the evil spirit or energy has been starting it’s own apocalypse slowly over the years. Gathering people to help it and killing of anyone to figures out too much and would stop it. I’m so intrigued!

    Like

  11. When Duane was killed I was SO ANGRY I had to come on Instagram and vent and I almost quit reading 😔 I loved Duane so much and at the beginning of the book I said if they kill Duane I will be so pissed and indeed I was. I had to take a break for the rest of the night. But then I did continue lol

    I also thought of tremors immediately too!

    Sorry, I keep forgetting to come on and comment on your blog. 😕

    Like

Leave a Reply

