King of Thorns – Mark Lawrence

I drive my knife in low, at the base of his scrotum. I leave it there. I don’t want it back. Also, if I pull it free he will bleed to death quickly. I think he should linger.

I am in love with this series! Mark Lawrence is a new favorite, for sure. This is a violent story told in a grim future, but with Lawrence at the helm there is a haunting elegance about it which makes my senses tingle in all of the best ways!

Prince of Thorns was good, but King of Thorns is fucking spectacular! It is an even more complex story with Lawrence jumping between flashbacks & the present. On top of that, there is an added element of the occasional diary entry from Katherine. This way of storytelling can be difficult for the reader to get into, but when done successfully, it is brilliant. And this was brilliant!

We are given glimpses into Jorg’s psyche, into his past. Why he has done the brutal things he has. It truly makes the reader think. We are able to peel back layer upon layer of Jorg. I’ve said it before but I will say it again (& again & again) but Jorg is such an incredible character! It blows my mind how he can be an utter piece of shit at times, yet I feel empathetic towards him. He does something like kicking a head into a crowd of people.. yet I can’t help but respect him. The amount of growth he goes through within King of Thorns is astounding!

There are some super characters introduced in this sequel (Prince Orrin, Gog, Gorgoth). I am especially glad for the inclusion of Miana, Jorg’s 12 year old bride. Even though she is only in this for a short time, she is a force to be reckoned with! I can’t help but think of her as a sort of Lyanna Mormont from Game of Thrones! I look forward to hopefully reading more about her in Emperor of Thorns.

King of Thorns is a blazingly paced story. One that deftly outlines a young man intent on revenge. It is dark & unforgiving in its rage, yet it is at times achingly tender. Mark Lawrence is a writer who captures both thought-provoking storytelling & pairs it with this addictive quality that is never drawn out. He is able to present so much story within a relatively short time to the reader, without sacrificing any details.

I am both anxious & nervous to see how this trilogy will end!

~Holly

One thought on “King of Thorns – Mark Lawrence

Leave a Reply

