The OA

The OA, a Netflix original, premiered on December 16 2016. The series is a mix of mystery; sci-fi; fantasy; supernatural; drama; interpretative dance; Lost; Stranger Things; mind-fuckery; this that & the other thing, etc.

The series was created by Brit Marling (who stars as “The OA”) & Zal (BATMAN) Batmanglij.

Synopsis:
The series centers on Prairie Johnson, an adopted young woman who resurfaces after having been missing for seven years. Upon her return, Johnson calls herself “The OA”, exhibits scars on her back, and can see, despite having been blind when she disappeared. While many believe she is a miracle, others worry that she could be dangerous.

Here are some of my non-spoilery thoughts I had throughout the eight-part series:

“What the fuck am I watching? There are more questions than answers! Is this.. what.. huh? No! DAFUQ?! This is nothing like I was expecting. Am I high? I cannot stop watching this. What is even going on? I have no idea, but damn it is intriguing! Why does he look so familiar? LUCIUS!!! Are they a dance troupe now? Should I laugh or cry? I AM SO CONFUSED! Wow. Oh, I adore those kids. PHYLLIS! Did she just.. WUT. Oh fuck. No! No! NO! Oh, they are dancing again. This is slightly uncomfortable. Cannot look away. Seriously, am I high? Is he really going to.. yes. Yes he is. Hershel has such kind Grandpa eyes. Shit is about to go down! Ahhh, that makes sense! RIZ! Whoa. WHOA. This is getting intense. Did that just happen? THERE HAS TO BE A SECOND SEASON, RIGHT?!”

On a conceptual level, I thought it was a ton of fun to watch. I’m still not sure if it is meant to be taken more seriously (those dance moves, though!) However, it is a show that seemed to embrace the weird. I am all about the weird! It was completely different from what I had originally expected, yet I ended up devouring it.

Have you seen it? Did you like it? No spoilers, please!

58585467aca0591b008b4bd2-2000

For the record, Netflix has renewed it for a second season. There is no return date yet, but one thing is for certain – that shit is bound to be BANANAS!

Rotten Tomatoes – The OA
IMDB – The OA

6 thoughts on “The OA

  1. I spent a lot of time wondering if this was going to get to a point. It had ideas but the story was just kind of drifting. Fair enough if you enjoy that kind of thing but I found myself tuning out at times throughout this and it isn’t that long a series. I probably won’t be returning for a season 2 of this one.

    Like

    1. I can definitely see where you are coming from! For me, I was just so fascinated. I’d sit there wondering what the hell I was watching & then by the time I start to formulate some understanding, the episode was over! I’m okay with some ambiguity & this certainly has that!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the show! There was a certain beauty that was a constant thread throughout. Pain, sorrow. Captivity (which most feel today) and the freedom that can be found from it. It highlighted the power that we humans possess, but hardly ever realize. May be it that we are all angels, or demons, or aliens, or whatever. The show bought new revelations to light. I’m definitely a fan of the supernatural and the untapped power of human potential. Can’t wait for season 2!

    Like

Leave a Reply

