Right Behind You – Lisa Gardner

Releases: 1.31.2017

Synopsis: Eight years ago, Sharlah May Nash’s older brother beat their drunken father to death with a baseball bat in order to save both of their lives. Now thirteen years old, Sharlah has finally moved on. About to be adopted by retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his partner, Rainie Conner, Sharlah loves one thing best about her new family: They are all experts on monsters.

In the aftermath of these events, the siblings were fostered separately. Then one day, Telly reappears & Sharlah’s world is turned upside down once again.

Corey: It took me awhile to get used to the switching perspectives (both first & third-person are utilized), and I’m not sure I found the first-person perspectives to be terribly believable.

Holly: I had read a few books by Lisa Gardner many, many years ago. As far as I can remember, none were from this particular group of related books. I am not sure if they are all written this way?

Corey: For sure, it’s a little weird coming into a series for the seventh book. But it was easy enough to get a handle on who these folks are, and what their relationships with one another are built on.

Holly: I didn’t think there was enough emotional depth for the serious subject matter. I needed something more. There were some poignant moments with Telly & Sharlah, but even then I felt like the relationship was one dimensional. A bit too robotic.

Corey: I did enjoy Sharlah’s relationship with her dog, Luka, and would’ve liked to have seen that explored even further!

Holly: I preferred the beginning when we were thrown into the violent childhood of Sharlah & Telly, but it felt like it began losing steam in the middle when that should have been the climax into the investigation.

Corey: It is worth noting that there are some pretty disturbing sequences in the book, but on the whole, nothing feels over-the-top or exploitative. There is certainly some implied violence towards children, however.

Holly: In saying all that, it was a quick read. It held my attention pretty much from beginning to end well enough, however I was already planning on what I would be reading next before I finished.

Corey: Overall, it’s a solid read that could’ve used a little more character development. I didn’t find myself that engaged with these characters, which ultimately had me feeling pretty disconnected from the story.

Holly: I recommend this if you have read the previous instalments in the series or if you are into psychological thrillers!

The Grimdragons Rating: Three Stars!

(Thank you to Dutton Books for providing us with a copy before the release date, in exchange for an honest review!)

Leave a Reply

