Half a War – Joe Abercrombie

Every hero is someone’s villain.

This series was one hell of a ride!

I feel that after having read three books by Abercrombie, I can now fully say that he has such an intrinsic narrative voice.. & I cannot get enough of it! 

Half a War picks up a few years after where Half the World left off. The POV’s this time around were of Skara, Raith & Koll. Because this is the conclusion to what has been building up for over two novels, there is plenty of action & ALL OF the battles! Abercrombie does brutal action spectacularly.

I did feel as though this was the weakest installment in the series. BUT, it had a lot to live up to following what is one of my favorite books ever, Half the World! This final book does not take anything away from the trilogy as a whole. This was GOOD, don’t get me wrong. It was great in parts, even. It just lacked some of the soul that the previous two books had. The biggest issue for me is with the switching of the POV’s for each novel, it makes it difficult to leave those amazing characters. Like Thorn. Thorn & Brand weren’t as central to the plot as they were in Half the World.. & I missed them. I had grown so fond of them both!

I desperately want an entire series on the badass Thorn more than anything! Definitely one of my favorite characters ever. GIVE ME MORE!

Listen. I could go on & on & on about this series. But I won’t. Just read it. Or don’t. I’m not going to tell you how to live your life! (But seriously. You would be missing out greatly by not reading this.)

I am beyond excited at the fact that there are still so many Abercrombie novels for me to devour. GIVE ME ALL OF THE ABERCROMBIE!

~Holly

Leave a Reply

